The Bookshop of Dreams

We got off the bus at Parramatta Markets and I said to my companion I was going to look at the second hand books

It was a place I had been to before, both in dreams and in real life

Some querulous young man was engaging the door woman with his trivial complaints

When it was my turn I gave her the 100 yen coin it cost to enter and then found the door was still obstructed

A giant and his tiny girlfriend, sitting on a bench, offered to get me in

The giant took me in his arms, raising me up above his head, and torpedo-ed me over all of the obstacles and into the shop

I banged my head on the lintel on the way through but it didn’t hurt and didn’t bleed so I didn’t mind

Did I say my younger son was with me? He was now

First I looked at the books on the semi-circular display shelves

Burroughs, Ancient Egypt, The Art of Tea — there wasn’t anything I wanted

We went down to the side room where the medieval texts are held

Shelves stuffed with parchments that had lost their bindings; leather-backed volumes you would not dare to open in case they cracked

All in Old or Middle English which I cannot read anymore

Two spivs in suits were surveying the offerings in search of investment opportunities

One of them, younger, red-headed, tipped a shelf forward as if to topple it down over on to him

You’re really stupid, you know that? I said

He shaped up as if to take me on but I knew I had his measure

He slunk off after the other guy

There were three people in the next room: a father, a mother and their grown-up daughter, who was about 40 and beautiful; Russians

Was it about force or was it about righteousness? they asked

They were talking about Raskolnikov

I did not know the answer and nor did they; but we all knew what the question was

They found a copy of Crime & Punishment and the daughter slid it into the embroidered shoulder bag she was carrying

We bowed and parted

In the next room I discovered a book about the Tartars, illustrated with gorgeous paintings accompanied by an unreadable calligraphy

Half Turkic half Chinese

I showed it to my son who turned it over and looked at the back

Eight dollars he said; a bargain

He’s good with money but was looking bored; you’re bored, aren’t you, I said

He was too polite to agree but I knew it was so

OK let’s go I said

We were going to take a boat down the river to Marrickville so went to wait at the landing; it was a grassy slope above the water

Some hairy rotund old baldachin-clad fellow came up to my son and asked for his help in crossing the river

He said he would; but that he couldn’t carry everything; so would I take the rest?

Of course I would

They set off swimming across the broad reach of the brown river

I took the bridge

But the bridge didn’t go all the way over and I was soon wading through deep water and then swimming myself with packages held above my head

To no avail: the newspapers and the other items floated away

When I returned to the other bank and was re-united with my son he said: yeah the old guy got across but he lost his sofa as well

Just then his older brother turned up, with his elegant luggage neatly packed but looking worried

Yeah yeah fine he said (he always says that) I just came to help you get home

Before we embarked on the river journey my beloved came back

She said: I sold all of my 142 baby geese

I saw that she was grieving; I was too; I remembered their white breasts and their emerald green wings

Their black beady eyes

I didn’t get enough for them either, she said; but I sold them to a friend; so she’ll look after them

I don’t know what happened to the Tartar book but it will still be there next time I visit that place

Wherever it is

I hope

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment